NCSF Spring Scholarship Recipients

News from. . .

    The NVMA Centennial Scholarship Foundation, Inc.

By Dr. Bob Stout, Treasurer



The 2022 recipient of the NVMA Past Presidents’ Leadership award is Melanie Herbers.  Ms. Herbers has recently completed her second year in the ISU/UNL 2 plus 2 program.

This scholarship, provided by the past-presidents of the NVMA stipulate that to be selected as a recipient of this scholarship, a student must demonstrate a dedication to the principles of professionalism and ethical behavior, an ability and commitment to encourage others and to lead by example, and an interest in, and an aptitude for the advancement of organized veterinary medicine.

The clubs and activities that Melanie is involved with include:  Christian Veterinary Fellowship (CVF), Veterinary Business Management Association (VBMA), Zoo, Exotic, Wildlife & Companion Animal Club (ZEWCA), Student American Veterinary Medicine Association (SAVMA), ISU CVM Integrative Medicine Club.  She has also served as an officer in several organizations, including:  PPVM Class of 2024 President Fall 2020-Present, CVF Treasurer Fall 2021-Present, VBMA Vice President Fall 2021-Present, Integrative Medicine Club Executive Team Member Fall 2021-Present

The award includes a certificate and a $ 1,000 scholarship.

Pre-vet Scholarship Recipients

The Foundation’s Scholarship Committee has named the 2022 recipients of the 4 – $750 pre-veterinary scholarships:

Cagney Ehlers            Clare Kohl                  Kaitlyn Lilly               MaKayla Nagengast

Ms. Nagengast attends Peru State College, Ms. Kohl attends Kansas State University, Ms. Ehlers and Ms. Lilly attend UNL-Lincoln.

The monies are provided by the Pet Memorial Fund.  In addition to the Pre-Veterinary scholarships, the fund supports 2 veterinary student scholarships each fall.

The NCSF board of directors express their congratulations, not just to the worthy students, but to all of the mentors, employers, and instructors that enable them to showcase their talents.

Dr. Vergil and Lynne Heyer Scholarship

Katya Ward will be a VM II student in the UNL/ISU program this fall. Katya was selected to receive the Heyer Scholarship established by

Dr. Vergil. It was his intention that the award be given to a student who had succeeded in the face of adversity, overcome obstacles, and persevered despite hardships. Ms. Ward has been the primary caregiver, for her disabled uncle suffering from autism and cerebral palsy, for the past 3 years.

This year’s Heyer award was $ 3,000.

NCSF/Boehringer-Ingelheim Awards

Brittany Kovar has accepted employment with Dr. Randy Schwange of David City. She will be a staff veterinarian at Bar S Vet Clinic, a predominantly food animal practice. She will be no stranger to the staff and clients of the clinic as she has worked in the clinic during summer breaks since she was a pre-veterinary student. Dr. Kovar is a recent graduate of Kansas State University.

The Alliance Animal Clinic, owned by Drs. Clint Kesterson, David Ylander, Calvin Tolstedt, and Anthony McClary has an employment agreement with Jais Ford. Dr. Ford will join the mixed animal clinic as its 6th full time veterinarian. Dr. McClary writes that the owners are looking forward to the new hire, a graduate of the UNL/KSU program. The practice services clients in the panhandle from its home clinic in Alliance and branch clinic in Bridgeport Jais grew up in the northern panhandle, graduating from Cody High School and looks forward to working in cow country.

Because there were only two applicants for this year’s scholarships, the $ 5,000 remaining in the BI fund will be used for 1 scholarship in 2023.   Boehringer-Ingelheim has informed the Foundation that they will no longer be funding new scholarships after that date.

The Foundations, the veterinarians hiring these students and the past and present recipients wish to thank BI for their generous support of these scholarships.  Special thanks go to Dan Wolfe, whose behind the scene efforts are responsible for these scholarships.